Do you write like J. R. R. Tolkien? C. S. Lewis? Or somewhere in-between?

Do you write like J. R. R. Tolkien? Do you write like C. S. Lewis? Or are you somewhere in-between? Which of these do you relate to?

1. I like to write in a noisy, busy environment, like a Starbucks.
2. I get my best writing ideas when I talk about my ideas with other people.
3. I love to revise my work over and over. It’s so hard to let it go….
4. I usually have a lot of different projects going, and I like to switch back and forth between them.
5. My best writing is late at night, in quiet, focused blocks of time.
6. If an editor or publisher or teacher asks for a revision, I feel like a failure. It is painful to be forced to revisit an old project.
7. Sometimes I doodle or play with page layouts or design title pages or work on cover concepts rather than actually writing my book.
8. When I get frustrated, I just scrap the whole thing and start over.
9. I work out ideas (even specific phrases and word choice) in my head before I actually write anything down.
10. I agonize over the details and, to be honest, I’m never really satisfied with the work that I do.

Answer key coming in next week’s post.

Leave a Reply

